Prakash Adhikari Elected Chair of GFNL, Gandaki

Global Federation of Nepali Literature (GNLF), Nepal chapter elected a new executive body for its Gandaki Province Branch, under the chairpersonship of Prakash Adhikari. Mr. Adhikari and his team was elected for a term of two years in a virtual event organized on ZOOM on June 6. Other members elected to the body are Vice President Arati Acharya, Secretary Prem Thapa, Assistant Secretary Pradeep Nepali and Treasurer Sabitri Giri. Those elected members of the committee are Nawaraj Neupane ‘Manu’, Nirmala Subedi, Amrita Pokharel, Bhabika Sharma, Samjhana Thapa, Saraswati Sharma Jigyasu and Ghanashyam Poudel. Three other members, as its Chair informed, would be nominated later.

Chaired by Kalpana Poudel Jigyashu, central organizing secretary and chair of Nepal Chapter, the event was attended by Prof. Dr. Ganga Prasad Prasai, Vice Chancellor of Tripura University, as the Chief Guest. Other distinguished guests who partook in the event were academician and veteran singer Kavita Ale, academician and writer Mahananda Dhakal, Chancellor of Bardhaghat Academy Dr. Ghanashyam Parishramee, Vice Chancellor of Khajura Academy Dr. Indra Bahadur Bhandari, Indian writer Dr. Gokul Kshetriya, GFNL International President Surendra Limbu Pardesi and others.

Speaking after his election, president-elect Prakash Adhikari said there was a dire need to undertake some cutting-edge initiatives to improve and internationalize Nepali literature. “I shall take every possible initiative to make a recognizable difference,” he said. Chief Guest Prof. Prasai said organization of seminars and conferences from time to time would encourage writers and help them improve further. He also informed that under his leadership, Tripura University had started teaching Nepali at post-graduate level and students from Nepal and elsewhere would be able to benefit from the provision soon. International President of the Federation, Surendra Limbu Pardeshi congratulated the newly elected committee and expressed his hope that the committee would live up to everyone’s expectation through its distinguished works and achievements.

The recital that followed featured several poets reading their creations. They included Mohan Raj Khanal, Chandrawati Adhikari, Gopal Kumar Mainali, Sumi Pokharel, Saraswati Shrestha, Pradeep Nepali, Krishna B. KC., Indira Gautam, Charitra Shah, Geeta Aryal, Suresh Kumar Pandey, Sabitri Giri, Gopiram Adhikari, Prakash Adhikari, Nawaraj Neupane, Prem Thapa, Badri Dhakal Hiramani and others, who read their poems, ghazals and haikus and others creations.